Saturday, August 27, 2011

It's Ok

(Ayz, I'm just going to steal your weekly idea, mainly because it boosts my mood :))
It's Ok to:
-be completely happy to dance again.  I forgot how much I love the floor under my toes
-be terrified about starting school again.  For anyone who's been out for any length of time, it's hard getting back into it!
-be completely excited while being terrified!
-stand up for what you believe in
-spend most of the day in your pj's.  Everyone needs a little lazy time once in a while.
-be completely grumpy because I haven't been able to go to the gym in a week.  Those crazy endorphins really do work!
-to really love your job, even if it's not glamorous!
-not know what you want to do when you grow up
-be completely uncomfortable around certain people, especially when you don't spend a large amount of time with them
-have weekly lunch dates with a friend!  Even if you are trying to loose weight, the time with friends is irreplacable
-to be married yet find other people attractive, acting on those feelings, however is NOT ok, and when I say attractive, I mean cute, anything more than that is inappropriate
-get super excited to have one more bill completely, 100% paid off
-have dreams at the age of 27.  When you loose your dreams, you loose your inspiration to be a better person
-go years without seeing your best friend.  If you really are friends, you can pick up right where you left off

Genetics

I sit here in bed still with a sick kiddo.  I think M has the second sinus infection in 4 weeks.  Why do I bring this up you ask?  Because I myself suffer from 1-4 sinus infections annually.  I know how my poor kid feels, minor fever, swollen face and the constant pain that takes over every time you move or touch your face.  My mom suffered from the same thing, small sinus'.  So this got me thinking, do genetics have a big role in our personalities as well? 
My daughter is a riot, and I truly mean that.  She has my husbands sense of humor and my short fuse.  Thankfully she has J's ability to blow up and forget.  She also has my sister's eating habits, won't eat 300 calories total for a few days, then eats everything in sight.  We've tried to change it, but she has no desire.  This one also has mine, my mom's, grandma's and grandpa's stubborn traits.  Everything is on her time and when she's ready.  Makes getting ready in the morning quite the struggle. 
This one also has my ability to hate nicknames.  She knows her name is Madysen, mine (in her mind) is mamma and J's is daddy.  Last night, while making dinner, I called J by his name instead of daddy, I was quickly informed that his name is not J, it is daddy.  M then began telling me that everyone has their own name, and as I mentioned before, I'm mamma, J's daddy and she's Madysen.  I have to find this slightly gratifying as someone called her Maddy the other day, she quickly rebutted with, I'm not Maddy, I'm Madysen.  That made me feel incredibly great as I fucking hate that nickname.  There is only 1, and I truly mean ONE person who can call her Maddy without me wanting to shove bamboo shears under the offenders nails, and that is my grandpa.  He is one of the only people that can call my sister and I by our nicknames.  There are lots of people who call her Maddy, my dad's family, some friends, and my in-laws.  For anyone reading this (and I really don't care if you are offended, it's been seriously driving me crazy for 3 years now), please stop.  PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE stop.  We both hate that name.  She is not a Maddy personality, that's why it pisses me off so much.  If you really would like an in-depth conversation about it, feel free to ask. 
This brings up another point about genetics.  Our family is very Irish, we get pissed easily, but I'm also part German, so I get even. 
Regardless of where you come from, genetics play a big part of our lives.  From what we look like, to our personality.  Take that into consideration when trying a new task or making yourself a better person.

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Crazy Weeks!

My, oh my, it's been a crazy few weeks around here.  I think J and I have spent all of 8 hours together this month, and I'm not joking.   Between work and other projects, it's been a busy month.  On the plus side, this month has gone fast.  It seems like we were at Em's wedding yesterday, and it's been a month today. 
September brings many good things to us this year!  I'm dancing again (although that started yesterday...hmmm...), anyway, FOOTBALL starts soon!  I can't freaking wait!!  I'm sure it'll be another depressing year, but who cares!  You get the sun, family, tailgating, FOOTBALL, BROWN and GOLD, cheerleaders, FOOTBALL, did I mention I was super excited about FOOTBALL?!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!  I love football.  Spending time with my grandparents, taking Madysen and watching her mimic every move my grandpa makes, seeing friends play, talking with my grandpa, ah, thinking about it makes my heart smile.  Along with football, September brings M's birthday.  What started out as a simple party, has turned into a bash, a 2 day celebration to be exact.  I can't wait to see her face when she sees the cake my aunt's making her.  And I can't wait to hang out with my family.  I do have the greatest family, in case you didn't know.  Everyone's pitched in, my mom, step dad, aunt, uncle, dad, sister and bestie.  I can honestly say this is going to be the easiest party I've thrown! (Mainly because I only have to make cornbread).  Not to mention Madysen has been talking about it for 2 weeks now.  She's so excited to see everyone together, especially Uncle Joe and Uncle Kirk. 
Hopefully I'll get to write before M's birthday, but if not, here's to fall: football, dancing and birthdays, it doesn't get much better than this!

Sunday, August 7, 2011

It's Ok Part Deux

Ayz, I'm stealing this again!!!
It's ok too...
-be super excited about school starting soon.  It means I get to start DANCING again!!
-take a 4 day weekend to do nothing.  Or do lots of things, either way, it's good to have some time to yourself.
-be 27 years old and still love the zoo.
-envy the imagination of children. The world is their playground.
-to be angry at someone who treats you like an inconvenience, or like a value menu.  They take only what they want when they want it.
-be secretly addicted to frosting.  I can eat it without anything but a spoon, a good frosting will cure the worlds problems.
-be incredibly angry at congress and their unnecessary bickering.  I think some folks need to take a trip back to kindergarten.  Name calling?  Really?  Taking sides just because of your friends, really?  Grow a backbone, sit down, and remember why you were elected in the first place.  Just in case you forgot-it's because you are there to represent our country and make it a better place to live.  These days you've been failing, miserably. 
-sit on the couch and get lost in a good book.
-listen to a story, smile and think "karma!"  Things happen for a reason.
-be pissed at karma, while things happen for a reason, we will not always understand why.

DoOver

Many of you would agree that this past year has sucked.  No other words to describe it, it just plain sucked.  In hopes to change this, my mom decided to have an upside down karma party.  The 4 of us wrote letters to karma and burned them (sort of like Friends, only less flames and no hot firefighters).  It seems like karma listened.  Well, that  or I'm just noticing the positives instead of the negativity that has seemed to plague this town lately. 
With a new beginning in place, it seemed like fate had brought a new workout for me to try.  One of the guys I work with asked if he could make me a workout to try, specifically for me, geared towards loosing weight.  As part of this, I decided that every week I'm going to take pictures to track my progress, and let me tell you, I had no idea I had gained this much weight.  Well, I knew I had gained weight since I quit Starbucks, but holy goodness!  It is NOT pretty.  But instead of sulking and crying about it, I'm going to do something about it gosh damned it.  I've already given up coffee and soda (mainly because of the headaches) but fried foods are next.  Yes, french fries, donuts, chips, fried ice cream, and many other awful things, see you never.  Well, maybe not never, never, but you won't be seeing me anytime soon, in 70 pounds.  Yup, that's one of my magic numbers, 70 pounds.  The other?  Size 8.  I want to be back down to a size 8.  I'll keep you updated, with the good and the bad.
:)