Sunday, July 24, 2011

It's ok

I'm stealing my friends weekly blog, "It's Okay Friday" because I think it's a great idea, and let's face it, we all need to be reminded that it's ok to feel the silly things we feel everyday.  So here it goes.

It's ok to:
-Cry at really good tv episodes.  I bawled at the season finale of Friends, more than one Grey's Anatomy episode, several Extreme Makeover Home Edition episodes and most recently, Sex and the City
-be nearly Day-Glo white.  I don't feel the need to tan indoors just to look "pretty," in 10 years, I know I won't look like a piece of aged leather
-feel incredibly sexy in heels
-choke back tears when seeing a bride walk down the isle
-think the best part of a wedding is the cake
-still love glitter nail polish even if you're not 13 anymore
-spend all of date night in bed, eating take out and watching corny movies
-run through the sprinklers like a kid on a hot day

Saturday, July 23, 2011

Weddings

Like most summers, the summer of 2011 has brought on many, and I do mean MANY weddings for this household. Sitting here post nuptials, I can't help but to think of the variety of brides and weddings I've experienced in the few I've been a part of.
The first was a disaster. I do literally mean disaster. Pregnant girls, panicked phone calls to nearly every Davids Bridal weeks before the wedding to find 4, yes 4 dresses, and a groom who was more high maintenance than the bride. All in all, the party was great, the company was great, but I wouldn't wish to repeat that experience for anyone (sorry MJ!). Its here and now that I can say a divorce was the best thing that came from that night.
The second was an experience I fear ruined a relationship. The bride and I were friends, I wouldn't classify us as great friends, but friends none the less. My nonchalant attitude I've had lately may have rubbed her the wrong way when she was upset over something (I must say that put in the same position, I would also be upset). Saying things like "tell her you're upset" and "no one will know but you" seemed to agitate the situation rather than diffuse it. Either way, the wedding was beautiful as was the reception.
The 3rd wedding I'm thinking of was one for the history books. True to the brides personality, it was elegant, simple, and beautiful. This bride and I were very good friends at a point in our lives, but as most friendships go, we drifted apart. The reasoning behind this drift was a disagreement in which we both could have handled differently, but as they say, everything happens for a reason. Anyway, as I sat in the back row, I couldn't help but to think how incredibly different we both are now. There is no way for us to be as close as we once were, mainly because we are completely different people in different places. This was very evident at the reception. While cordial to one another, I couldn't help but to be a little sad, as I knew then and there that we would never get to that place again.
Weddings are a wonderous occasion, full of emotion and beauty. It can bring out the best, and worst, in all involved. Either way, sit back, relax, and enjoy (especially the cake!)

Weddings

Like most summers, the summer of 2011 has brought on many, and I do mean MANY weddings for this household. Sitting here post nuptials, I can't help but to think of the variety of brides and weddings I've experienced in the few I've been a part of.
The first was a disaster. I do literally mean disaster. Pregnant girls, panicked phone calls to nearly every Davids Bridal weeks before the wedding to find 4, yes 4 dresses, and a groom who was more high maintenance than the bride. All in all, the party was great, the company was great, but I wouldn't wish to repeat that experience for anyone (sorry MJ!). Its here and now that I can say a divorce was the best thing that came from that night.
The second was an experience I fear ruined a relationship. The bride and I were friends, I wouldn't classify us as great friends, but friends none the less. My nonchalant attitude I've had lately may have rubbed her the wrong way when she was upset over something (I must say that put in the same position, I would also be upset). Saying things like "tell her you're upset" and "no one will know but you" seemed to agitate the situation rather than diffuse it. Either way, the wedding was beautiful as was the reception.
The 3rd wedding I'm thinking of was one for the history books. True to the brides personality, it was elegant, simple, and beautiful. This bride and I were very good friends at a point in our lives, but as most friendships go, we drifted apart. The reasoning behind this drift was a disagreement in which we both could have handled differently, but as they say, everything happens for a reason. Anyway, as I sat in the back row, I couldn't help but to think how incredibly different we both are now. There is no way for us to be as close as we once were, mainly because we are completely different people in different places. This was very evident at the reception. While cordial to one another, I couldn't help but to be a little sad, as I knew then and there that we would never get to that place again.
Weddings are a wonderous occasion, full of emotion and beauty. It can bring out the best, and worst, in all involved. Either way, sit back, relax, and enjoy (especially the cake!)

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

It's been a while since I've written, but I haven't had much to say.  It's been a very busy few weeks with weddings, truffles, work and pictures.  But as I sit here, I remember why I started this blog, to get back to my former self, the caring kind soul I yearn to be.  Part of discovering that person again, is to come to terms with the person I am now.  I'm not a bad person by any means, I've just become jaded by some bad relationships.  I've been lied to, made fun of, had personal information thrown back at me, and have been told to loose "just 5 pounds" to gain the affection of someone I had a crush on.  I know most of you have had the same things happen, we're human by all means.  I'm just taking a stand, today, to erase the moments that have jaded me.  As my mom put it, we're burning all the negative out of our lives, and focusing on the positive.  In part of my discovery, I really, and I mean really, would like to loose a significant amount of weight.  More importantly, I'd really like to finish my half marathon in December.  I'm not running for a certain time, I'm aiming for a finish and simply that.  In starting the positiveness, I'm not focusing on the actual weight loss, as I get frustrated when I gain then when I loose and visa versa.  On the positive side.  I feel great and confident.  I signed up for dance classes again (which I genuinely miss) and am incredibly excited to get my feet on the floor once again. 

Tuesday, July 5, 2011

My 2 Cents

With the verdict of the CA trial streaming 24 hours a day, there is no doubt the masses would take to their social networks to voice their opinions.  I personally did, as did many of my friends.  I've read everything from "I'm physically ill" to "thou shall not judge."  Like many other controversial trials in life, this will be one that the masses will not entirely agree upon.  She has been proven not guilty of killing her baby girl.  I'm not here to argue guilt, she has been decided innocent by a jury of her peers.  Do I agree with the verdict?  No.  Is there anything I can do about it?  No.  
Being not guilty does bother me, read the aforementioned physically ill statement.  As a friend posted on facebook today, the defense did their jobs.  They convinced the jury of the slight chance she didn't do it.  Kudos to you defense team.  However, my problem with CA is the fact that she did not report her daughter missing, and she did not do everything in her power to find her baby.  Saying she drowned?!  Why the fuck did you not call 911 then?  She got hurt doing something else?  Again, why the fuck did you not call 911?  Were you afraid they might think you abused your little girl?  Go fuck yourself.  My daughter had a seizure a year ago.  Scariest 4 hours of my life.  Calling 911 @ 3 am?  Not something I would wish on my worst enemy, but you know what?  I did it.  I sat there when the fire department, my family-my uncles, grabbed my little baby from her room and carried her to the ambulance.  I sat there when the police had to (I repeat HAD TO) question us and the doctors to make sure we didn't abuse my daughter.  Was it fun?  Not hardly.  But being in a position where I thought (at the time) my daughters life could be ruined, the last thing I was worried about was my name.  Now, I know I can't speak for CA's feelings during all of this.  I wasn't there, and I'm not pretending that I was.  I just can't comprehend how a mother can stand by while her daughter is missing (drowning/dead/whatever other stories will come out of this) and not do anything.  Now some of you (and you know who you are, D-I love you dearly buddy, but we will never ever agree on this subject) will contend that I am judging.  You bet your ass I am.  Will I go to hell for it?  Possibly, but I'd like to think not.  The God I believe in will forgive me for thinking this girl skated on a murder charge.  And the God I believe in, is mine.  
It's no secret I don't go to church.  I have major problems with churches.  (this statement will open a can of worms, I am well aware).  Don't judge me for that.  (I bold this because some of you have thrown that word at me before for believing what I believe, and yes, I know that you do judge me for my beliefs).  I was raised with Christian values.  I did go to church as a kid, participated in many activities actually.  God has a special place in my heart, he knows that.  Will my God love me less for not going to a building with other worshipers as I listen to someone tell me what to believe?  No.  While it's hard to fathom why so many wars are started because of religion, it's easy to see why. Not everyone will always agree on the same thing.  My husband says he's an atheist, I don't agree with him.  But I love him the same.  He doesn't patronize me for having faith/beliefs in a higher power, and I don't try to force religion on him.  It's a mutual understanding.  So with that said, don't patronize me for questioning how a mother could sit around while her baby goes missing.  Consider me naive for asking can't we agree to disagree?  You've got your beliefs and I've got mine.  I'll give you major kudos for standing up for what you believe in, that's a hard to thing to do in a semi public forum.