With the verdict of the CA trial streaming 24 hours a day, there is no doubt the masses would take to their social networks to voice their opinions. I personally did, as did many of my friends. I've read everything from "I'm physically ill" to "thou shall not judge." Like many other controversial trials in life, this will be one that the masses will not entirely agree upon. She has been proven not guilty of killing her baby girl. I'm not here to argue guilt, she has been decided innocent by a jury of her peers. Do I agree with the verdict? No. Is there anything I can do about it? No.
Being not guilty does bother me, read the aforementioned physically ill statement. As a friend posted on facebook today, the defense did their jobs. They convinced the jury of the slight chance she didn't do it. Kudos to you defense team. However, my problem with CA is the fact that she did not report her daughter missing, and she did not do everything in her power to find her baby. Saying she drowned?! Why the fuck did you not call 911 then? She got hurt doing something else? Again, why the fuck did you not call 911? Were you afraid they might think you abused your little girl? Go fuck yourself. My daughter had a seizure a year ago. Scariest 4 hours of my life. Calling 911 @ 3 am? Not something I would wish on my worst enemy, but you know what? I did it. I sat there when the fire department, my family-my uncles, grabbed my little baby from her room and carried her to the ambulance. I sat there when the police had to (I repeat HAD TO) question us and the doctors to make sure we didn't abuse my daughter. Was it fun? Not hardly. But being in a position where I thought (at the time) my daughters life could be ruined, the last thing I was worried about was my name. Now, I know I can't speak for CA's feelings during all of this. I wasn't there, and I'm not pretending that I was. I just can't comprehend how a mother can stand by while her daughter is missing (drowning/dead/whatever other stories will come out of this) and not do anything. Now some of you (and you know who you are, D-I love you dearly buddy, but we will never ever agree on this subject) will contend that I am judging. You bet your ass I am. Will I go to hell for it? Possibly, but I'd like to think not. The God I believe in will forgive me for thinking this girl skated on a murder charge. And the God I believe in, is mine.
It's no secret I don't go to church. I have major problems with churches. (this statement will open a can of worms, I am well aware). Don't judge me for that. (I bold this because some of you have thrown that word at me before for believing what I believe, and yes, I know that you do judge me for my beliefs). I was raised with Christian values. I did go to church as a kid, participated in many activities actually. God has a special place in my heart, he knows that. Will my God love me less for not going to a building with other worshipers as I listen to someone tell me what to believe? No. While it's hard to fathom why so many wars are started because of religion, it's easy to see why. Not everyone will always agree on the same thing. My husband says he's an atheist, I don't agree with him. But I love him the same. He doesn't patronize me for having faith/beliefs in a higher power, and I don't try to force religion on him. It's a mutual understanding. So with that said, don't patronize me for questioning how a mother could sit around while her baby goes missing. Consider me naive for asking can't we agree to disagree? You've got your beliefs and I've got mine. I'll give you major kudos for standing up for what you believe in, that's a hard to thing to do in a semi public forum.
No comments:
Post a Comment