Thursday, October 21, 2010

Well No Wonder!

In trying to find the me I used to and want to return to once again, I'm finding qualities in myself that I don't like. In discovering those qualities, I'm finding them in other people (which has me quite crabby these days). The reason I bring this up is because lately I've paid attention to the crap I eat, which of course takes residence on my ass, causing me to gain weight. In this, I've taken notice to the crap others consume, and holy crap! When did it become socially acceptable to consume a 26 ounce milkshake everyday, and for breakfast none the less?! Not to mention a 26 ounce latte, or worse, white mocha/pumpkin spice with half and half. You people understand this is half table cream and half whole milk correct? Top it with whipped cream and a 500 calorie scone and you have found the magical formula for the obesity epidemic in this nation!
Starting on Sunday I began to count the number of people who habitually order these milkshakes (and honestly people, lets not kid ourselves, they are in Essen's milkshakes-whole milk, sugar, fat, some ice, blended and topped with our favorite!). At an average of 200 calories in an tall, they're not a healthy alternative to the milkshakes McDonalds offers, trust me!
Now, looking at the "healthy" alternatives around grocery stores/restaurants, I'm noticing items with low calories but packed with salt/fat/trans fats - believe me, they're still in there, just labeled as partially hydrogenated oils - to maintain the "flavor" the random chemical composition in these so called meals. I'm not making excuses for my weight problem, believe me I know how I got here, but I want to scream at these people who get non-fat milk because it will save the calories, but still order a 26 ounce drink! The caloric difference between whole and nonfat milk is minor in comparison. It's the portion sizes that are killing people.
Post venting, I am proud to admit the commitment I have to compete in and complete the Disney World Half Marathon next fall. Starting to save money so JJ and Madysen can come cheer us on, then go play once I finish. I am proud to admit I have been running intervals and am up to 5 miles an hour (will also admit the longest I've run is 1.5 minutes with a 3.5 minute walking interval). I'm doing this the correct way, not going to push myself into running hard and long, then not being able to continue the next week.
Toodles!

No comments:

Post a Comment